Skip to main content

Open Access Books & Journals: Open Access Journals

Full text ebooks and journals available without a subscription. Free and fully available

What is an Open Access Journal?

Our Library Catalog Mandarin Logo

"Open access (OA) books and journals are scholarly materials that are available online to the reader "without financial, legal, or technical barriers other than those inseparable from gaining access to the internet itself." While open access journals are freely available to the reader, there are still costs associated with the publication and production of such journals."

Reference: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Open_access_journal

ALLMEDx

About Our Collections

AllMedx searches through a carefully curated collection of professional clinical content meant to help health care professionals find answers to clinical questions. Included are links to nearly 2 million high quality URLs, including journal articles, clinical guidelines, medication databases, medical news, and much more.

Agricola

This is a bibliographic database of citations to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library (NAL) and its cooperators. 

BioMed Central Open Access

At BMC, research is always in progress. We are committed to continual innovation to better support the needs of our communities, ensuring the integrity of the research we publish, and championing the benefits of open research. BMC is part of Springer Nature.

BioResearch Open Access

BioResearch Open Access is a peer-reviewed open access journal that provides a rapid-publication forum for a broad range of scientific topics including but not limited to molecular and cellular biology, tissue engineering and biomaterials, bioengineering, regenerative medicine, stem cells, gene therapy, systems biology, genetics, biochemistry, virology, microbiology, and neuroscience. 

BRENDA Enzyme Database

BRENDA is an information system representing one of the most comprehensive enzyme repositories. It is an electronic resource that comprises molecular and biochemical information on enzymes that have been classified by the IUBMB

Cambridge Journals

Cannibis and Cannabinoid Research

DOAJ The Directory of Open Access Journals

GreenFile

This database provides scholarly, government and general-interest sources covering the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments and what can be done at each level to minimize negative impacts.

Elsevier Open Access Journals

Global Research Library

Library of Congress

The Library of Congress is the largest library in the world, with millions of books, recordings, photographs, newspapers, maps and manuscripts in its collections. The Library is the main research arm of the U.S. Congress and the home of the U.S. Copyright Office.

Mary Ann Liebert, Inc publishers

Mary Ann Liebert, Inc. is a leading independent publisher known worldwide for its prescience and establishment of authoritative peer-reviewed journals, books, and trade publications in the health sciences. Here is a link to their open access journals

NBER

The NBER Working Papers are provided by the National Bureau of Economic Research. This is a full text collection. The papers are dedicated to providing a better understanding of how the economy works.

Open Access

PeerJ

PeerJ — the Journal of Life and Environmental Sciences is a peer-reviewed & Open Access journal publishing primary research and reviews in biology, life sciences, environmental sciences, and medicine. 

Project gutenberg

Project Gutenberg offers over 58,000 free eBooks. Choose among free epub and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online. You will find the world's great literature here, with focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired. Thousands of volunteers digitized and diligently proofread the eBooks, for enjoyment and education

PLOS Open Access Journals

Project Muse

Over 1200 Full text ebooks and journals available. When you search, click on the unlocked books and journals by choosing the tab on the left of the screen "Only content I have access to"

Scientific Research

Taylor and Francis, and Routledge Journals

Thieme Open Access Journals

Oxford University Press Open Access

Web of Science Open Access

Watch the tutorial to see how to access full text articles from the Web of Science.

https://youtu.be/F98qREBOr7M

 

Wiley Open Access Journals